Leek, Potato and Lentil Soup with Chorizo Croutons

IMG_0550This week has been a majorly busy one! I’ve had a work leaving do for one of the girls whose off on maternity leave (good luck Stacey!!), a joint 50th birthday for Joe’s family (Happy birthday to everyone involved) and we went to the Urban Night Feast in Newcastle. The urban night feast in Newcastle was a fantastic event, full of delicious street food from all over the country as well as local vendors. It was held at The Boiler Shop Steamer which is a great venue. We tried some uber delicious food and ate and drank far too much. I only wish I’d took my camera as we could have took some lovely shots to post – ah hindsight! But for any one in the Newcastle area, would thoroughly recommend their events for a great night out. Plus it’s made me so much more excited to hit Borough Market hard on our trip to London next month!

IMG_0539

It’s almost a relief to be back to normal after a week of eating too much rich food and drink! I was going to post about my favourite chocolate brownie recipe. However as the batch I made were snaffled down by the work girls in a matter of moments, before I got round to photographing them I’ve decided to post about something I’ve been really craving since the weathers cooled down.

Soup is one of those things I love in winter, it’s as essential to me in cold weather as snuggling down in a dressing gown and PJ’s after work!  J is not as convinced – he’s of the stance that ‘soup isn’t dinner food!’. So when I do make it I have to beef it up a little and make it as hearty and filling as possible. I like to rebrand it as ‘stew’ when we discuss what’s for tea – that way he doesn’t complain as much (mwahaha!), although I think he may have suspicions.

I won’t apologise for my deviousness as frankly I wanted soup for tea! I’m the cook so I win!

IMG_0536

This recipe is one I’ve had for years and the original basic soup recipe comes from Delia’s Complete Cookery book – something every budding cook should own! It’s my absolute favourite soup recipe and no matter how many others I try and enjoy it’s the one I always come back to.

Over the years I’ve changed it and made it my own – I’ve changed the proportions of the veg slightly to suit how we like it. The lentils and chorizo are recent additions I’ve added to beef it up a little. The lentils add a nice bite in the creamy soup and make it a meal in it’s self and the chorizo croutons just add a lovely little bite of salty deliciousness that contrasts really well with the soup.

Plus a little chorizo oil tends to ooze out of the croutons when you add them, creating a beautiful red swirl in your soup!

Leek, Potato and Lentil Soup with Chorizo Croutons: (Serves 4)

3 Large Leeks – Sliced in half, washed and sliced into rounds

1 Large Potato – Diced into small chunks

1 Large Onion – Diced

50g Butter

850ml Chicken Stock (Homemade or the best you can get!)

275ml Whole Milk

Plenty of Salt and Pepper

100g Puy Lentils

250ml Chicken stock

1 Sprig Rosemary – leaves removed and finely chopped

200g Chorizo – Diced

IMG_0551IMG_0544

In a large saucepan melt the butter over a medium heat then add the leeks, potato and onions. Stir well to coat with the butter and season really well. Turn the heat down to low then put the lid on and let them sweat for 15 minutes. Keep checking them and stirring to make sure they aren’t sticking to the bottom.

Add the 850ml of stock and the milk and bring to the boil. Season well again and turn the heat down, cover and simmer for 20 minutes until the vegetables are soft. Watch it doesn’t boil over as due to the milk it can do quite easily.  Once done blend until smooth with a hand blender, check the seasoning and set aside.

Meanwhile put the lentils, 250 ml of chicken stock and the rosemary in a small pan and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down, cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Keep stirring them to check they aren’t sticking.  Keep tasting, they should be softened but with just a little bite to them. When they are done stir them into your blended soup and ladle the soup into bowls

*Notes – I had the left overs of this the next day minus the chorizo with a good grating of parmesan which worked really really well! You could defo go either or with this, or go crazy and do both. I won’t judge!

IMG_0535

Blog Love:

These are my favourite recipes that are kicking around the blogaspere this week! Can’t wait to try them

Lime and Barley have put two fantastic recipes on this week I’m dying to try! This Sundried Tomato and Barley Risotto with Feta looks so perfect for autumn and the barley makes it practically healthy! Plus these Duck and Plum Gyoza in Noodle Soup looks like the perfect thing to spend a lazy day off making! I’m new to the Lime and Barley blog but I’ve been loving reading through their recipe list!

These Caramel Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies look sooo good from Secrets from the Cookie Princess. Love the mix of sweet and salty! Will defo be making these.

I’m not sure what turtle candies are ( I think they are a US thing!) but a cheesecake incorporating oreos, pecans, caramel sauce and chocolate ganache sounds about as good as cheesecake gets! Check out Brown Eyed Baker for the recipe for Turtle Cheesecake. May have to have a dinner party just for an excuse to make this one!

2 thoughts on “Leek, Potato and Lentil Soup with Chorizo Croutons

  1. This does sound delicious – love that you’ve tricked it into a ‘stew’ to make it sound less healthy, ha! Exactly what I do to my boyfriend. Thanks for the recommendations lovely x

Leave a Reply

