Strawberry and Cream Cookies

IMG_0592

Pink Cookies!!! Do these really require any other introduction? I think not!

I’ve been so excited about making these ever since I spotted them on Jo Blogs Jo Bakes. Not just for the colour but also for getting to play with a new ingredient which I love. They use freeze dried strawberry powder which I have fallen somewhat in love with! It’s all natural, so as well as the added benefit of making things pink it also tastes rather nice! Non of that synthetic fruit flavour you get from flavouring which both J and I dislike. J is mostly very suspicious of them, mostly I think due to colour which apparently means he can’t take them in his work lunchbox in case his work friends see him eating pink cookies! HA more cookies for me I say! All girls welcome, lets have a cookie party! No? Just me then.

IMG_0576

I’ve also discovered that freeze dried fruit powders come in a massive variety of flavours here, which I may have got somewhat excited about and ordered several of! Loving the idea of the banana and the cherry powders. I’m already envisioning all the milkshakes, cupcakes, cookies etc I can make with them! I love discovering new ingredients!

On the note of new discoveries I’ve joined up this month to be a part of the foodie pen pals scheme, which I’m majorly excited about! It’s a scheme in which each month you send and receive a food parcel with someone else blogger or reader in the UK or Europe. Love the of getting a box of lovely new things to sample and explore each month. And also sending out a box of my own ingredient discoveries and favourite things for someone else to try. I’ll be revealing my foodie package on the 31st along with all the other blogs involved so look out for that. I’ll be as excited as on Christmas morning!

If it’s something you’d be interested in joining check out This is Rock Salt for more info!

IMG_0568IMG_0553

I’ve stayed very true to the original recipe with this one as I loved the idea as it was. The only thing I’ve really changed is messing around with quantities a little. I’ve also switched the original almond essence for rose extract as personally I hate almond essence . Plus I love the slight rose note the rose extract gives, I think it works so well with the strawberry and vanilla flavours! You could also add a handful of chopped, toasted almonds if you wanted a bit a crunch.

Strawberry and Cream Cookies

150g Butter –  At room temperature

200g Caster Sugar

2 Egg Yolks

1 tsp Vanilla Bean Paste

6 Drops Rose Extract

4 Level Tbsp Freeze Dried Strawberry Powder

190g Plain Flour

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

200g White Chocolate – Chopped

IMG_0574

Oven 180C/350F/Gas 4

Put the sugar and butter in a large bowl and cream together until light and fluffy. Add the egg yolks, vanilla paste and rose extract and beat well until well combined then beat in the strawberry powder.

Add the flour and beat until just combined with the other ingredients then add the chocolate. Beat briefly then use your hands to bring together into a ball much like shortbread. Put in the fridge for 40 minutes to firm up slightly.

Line sheet trays with baking paper then roll mixture into walnut sized balls (roll fairly firmly so nice compact balls). I got about 12 cookies from one batch.

Bake for 10-12 minutes so just set but still nicely puffed up. Cool completely on the baking paper before trying to remove.

Try not to eat them all in one go…. I won’t judge if you do though!

8 thoughts on “Strawberry and Cream Cookies

    • Thanks! They are so pretty, and so addictive! Can’t stop eating them. Sure you would find some online! It’s not cheap to buy but comes in a big bag – so many pink thing possibilities!

  1. These look so good, thanks for sharing. I made pink cookies once (raspberry and white chocolate) for a secret santa present and got told that they tasted like soggy cardboard – needless to say I have never made them since and nor have I spoken to the recipient since. This recipe may just be the thing to resurrect my pink cookie making!!! Thanks, as always, for sharing.

    • you should defo try them they are so addictive! Ran out now and I can’t stop craving them! Anyone who says your cookies taste like cardboard isn’t worth speaking to!! Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

