Peanut Butter and Pretzel Cookies

Untitled 2

Today I would like to discus a book. It’s a book that is totally unrelated to this post but I just really wanted to talk about how amazing it is! It’s one I’ve read before and have just come back to again to re-experience it and hopefully see it through new eyes. That book is Shantaram.

I read it the first time after we came back from India and I just found it so evocative of the sights, smells and culture that you experience every minute you spend there. India is such an amazing country – within minutes of walking down the street you go from baffled, upset, angry, elated and pure happiness and back again. This book captures all that and does it in midst of a amazing story!

Not to go into to much detail but the main character is no saint, and really non are any of the character’s, but that’s what makes it such a great read as well as what makes them so likable. It looks at the seedy underside of India, the criminals, the drug trade and the slums seen through the eyes of a character already on the run from prison. But through all that the thing that really shines through is humanity – at both it’s best and worst – something which in it’s self sums up India.

It’s a book I would encourage anyone to read, whether or not you have been to India, or for that matter any other country. It’s a book you can really immerse yourself in and won’t want to put down. Something which is definitely a plus as it’s over a thousand pages long! But read it, enjoy it, and I hope like me it makes you see your world in a slightly new light!

IMG_0639

Now the real point of this post!

These cookies are as all American as they come! No ifs, no buts, no apologies! One thing I should admit to any American readers out there is that I’m not a fan of peanut butter(I know! Don’t hate me!). Don’t get me wrong I like the taste, but it’s something in the texture I just can’t get away with in a sandwich or on toast. But recently I’ve discovered Reese’s peanut butter cups, which I am now somewhat addicted to!

Because of this I’ve kind of discovered baking with peanut butter as an alternative to just eating it. That way I get to appreciate the flavour without being put off by the texture! These cookies are crumbly, salty sweet and deliciously moreish. I used miniature Reese’s peanut butter cups – if you struggle to find them (they can be tricky to track down here in the UK) you could always just use chocolate chunks as the cookie dough has peanut butter in anyway. But I do really think the Reese’s add something special when combined with the salty, crunchy pretzels! I used a smooth peanut butter for the batter but use whatever you’ve got – I’ve not tested the recipe with crunchy but if that’s your preference go for it!

Just a note on cooking these cookies don’t spread much and they don’t colour much so don’t panic if they don’t look done. Pat the down well before you put them in the oven and trust the cooking time! On standing they will firm up and become deliciously crumbly!

I’ve adapted this recipe from the lovely blog The Novice Chef.

c00540f23bcd11e39df022000a1fb07c_8 f05ba6603bfa11e3b4ea22000a1fbdb0_8

 Peanut Butter and Pretzel Cookies:

245g Plain Flour

3/4 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

115g Butter – Softened

100g Caster Sugar

110g Brown Sugar

190g Peanut Butter

1 Egg

1tsp Vanilla Bean Paste (or extract)

5.3 oz Bag of Reese’s Pieces Minatures – Each chopped into quarters

50g Pretzels – chopped into pieces

IMG_0634

Oven 180C/350F/Gas 4

Cream together the butter, both sugars and peanut butter with an electric hand mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg and the vanilla paste.

Mix together the flour, salt and baking powder in a small bowl. Beat it into the butter mixture a little at a time until a dough forms. Add in the peanut butter cups and pretzels and bring the dough together, incorporating the cups and pretzels with your hands.

Line 2 cookie sheets with baking paper. Roll the mixture into balls of about walnut size (about 2 tablespoons). Place them on the baking paper and press them to flatten them down well – you should end up with about 10-12 cookies.

Place them on the second shelf in the oven and cook for 12 minutes. They won’t spread or colour much but they will be slightly born round the edges when they are done.

Leave on the baking sheet for 15 minutes before removing.

14 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Pretzel Cookies

    • Thanks! They are a little addictive! Unfortunatly for my ever suffering waistline… If you like that salty sweet combination you should enjoy these. Thansk for reading!

    • lol I know! In my defence I like the taste! It’s just the texture that gets me. But I get to eat it in cookies instead so it’s all good 🙂 Just been checking out your buffalo and blue cheese macaroni! Looks incredible!

  1. The sweet salty combo is a favourite of mine too so will be trying these. I checked out the book you were talking about and have added it to my Kindle wish list. Having looked at the description, I thought I would give you another book suggestion – ‘The White Tiger’ by Aravind Adiga. It’s a really interesting book which I think you might enjoy. Here is the link:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-White-Tiger-ebook/dp/B002ROKQJM/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1382782018&sr=1-1&keywords=white+tiger

    Hope all is good with you, thanks for sharing the recipe and the book suggestion.

    • ooo thanks for the recommendation. Funnily enough I think I may have White Tiger somewhere in my book collection – but inexplicably have yet to read it! Will have to dig it out – I love a good read! You should defo try Shantaram – it’s such a good book! Let me know if you read it! Or make these cookies 🙂

  2. Oh yummy yummy yummy!! I can’t wait to try them!! At first, I was like, “What?? You’ve JUST discovered Reeses cups?” But yeah, I get it. You’re in the UK. I can get them for you whenever you want. I’d be happy to send you some… 🙂 Another awesome post. ❤ ❤

    • Yea they can be tricky to find and expensive here. I love them though! You can send me some any time 🙂 They would be well and truly devoured! Thanks for reading love ❤

    • Thanks! It’s an amazing book you should defo try to read. It is uber long though so it’s a commitment! You should definitely try the cookies though – they are much quicker and you get to eat them 🙂

Leave a Reply

