Pear and Ginger Galette

IMG_0772

Ok so I have an idea. It doesn’t happen often so bear with me!

I’ve been part of foodie pen pals for 2 months now, admittedly very unsuccessfully as I’ve yet to receive a box! Fingers crossed for this month :-). But it’s an idea I love. It is however off over December as Carol Anne over at This is Rock Salt (understandably!) gives herself a month off. So no Christmas box swap.

What I’m thinking is some kind of one off, Christmas special, transatlantic box swap. My reasoning being, us UK bloggers so often see posts containing delicious sounding things like cinnamon chips, butterfingers, candy corn, butterscotch chips etc etc which we just don’t have access to. Likewise us UK and European bloggers have access to our own set of ingredients – Enter rhubarb and custards, proper fudge, Yorkshire tea etc etc.

IMG_0736

Just wondering if anyone on this side of the Atlantic, or the other would be interested in getting involved in a Christmas foodie box swap. Think of it as that perfect foodie Christmas present just for you! If there’s anyone up for it I’ll have a look into postage costs, budget and feasibility and we’ll set something up 🙂 Send me an email at Stripes_2@hotmail.co.uk or comment on here if you fancy it, I’d love to hear from you!

IMG_0733

So, I’ve digressed! What this post is really supposed to be about is pears! We have a pear tree in our garden that produces the most delicious pears. I have no idea what kind they are – possibly conference but I don’t really mind as they taste gooood :-). This year however, J for some inexplicable reason decided to pick all the pears at once, leaving me with an enormous bag of ripe pears that all needed using at once!

So on my day off I had a mass pear production day to use them all up. This recipe was the star of the day (Possibly because it’s the only one I’ve got to eat so far!). It comes from Gordon Ramsay’s new daytime show Gordon Ramsay’s Home Cooking which I’ve been watching on and off.

I would never have put pears and ginger together myself, but I absolutely loved the combination! The recipe uses both preserved stem ginger and root ginger so it’s a lovely mix of sweet and spicy against the pears. The flavour of the ginger doesn’t overpower though. I have reduced the amount of ginger syrup as the first time I made it I ended up with syrup bubbling out all over the oven – not good! I also made this with apples last week to test it out, which worked fine. So you could always substitute if you wanted to – personally I think it works best with pears though.

IMG_0763IMG_0767

Pear and Ginger Galette (Serves 4)

Sweet Pastry:

225g Plain Flour

2 Tbsp Icing Sugar

150g Butter – Very Cold, Diced

1 Egg – Beaten

1-2 Tbsp Cold Water

Sift the flour and icing sugar into the bowl of a food processor and add the diced butter. Pulse until the ingredients come together to resemble breadcrumbs. Add the egg through the feed tube and pulse again to combine. Add the water very slowly while the food processor is running using just enough to bring the mixture together into a ball. Remove from the processor – wrap in cling film and put in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, or until needed.

pie 2

Filling:

4 Ripe Pears – Any variety you enjoy

1 Tbsp Demerara Sugar

1 Ball Preserved Stem Ginger – Finely chopped

1.5 Tbsp Stem Ginger Syrup (From the Jar)

2 cm Piece of Root Ginger – Peeled and finely grated

Zest 1 Lemon

1 Egg Yolk – Beaten

Oven 180C/350F/Gas 4

Flour the work surface well and roll out your pastry to a 4mm thickness. Place a large (about 22cm) dinner plate face down on the pastry and cut around it to get a perfect circle – Transfer the pastry circle to a baking sheet lined with baking paper and set aside.

IMG_0780IMG_0755

Peel, quarter and core the pears and put into a large bowl. Add the sugar, stem ginger, syrup, root ginger and half the lemon zest and toss gently to combine. Arrange the pear slices in a circular fan shape from the centre of the pastry. Leave at least a 3cm gap around the edges. Tip over any ginger syrup and bits left in the bowl and brush around the edge of the pastry with the egg yolk. Bring up the edge of the pastry around the pears in a crimped wavy wall and brush the rim with more egg yolk. Sprinkle with the remaining lemon zest and sift over a little icing sugar.

Bake 30-35 minutes until golden and slightly caramelized.

18 thoughts on “Pear and Ginger Galette

  1. This combination sounds delicious! I’m fairly jealous that you have a pear tree, that’s so delightful. I would happily be a Christmas foodie pal, but Australian customs are so strict with food coming and going from the country that I don’t think it would work 😦

    • I love having a pear tree. I always have to think of so many things to do with them so they don’t go to waste though! I know I always watch Nothing to declare about Australia customs, they are SO strict!!

  2. It’s so funny how we both posted a pear and ginger recipe. I swear I didn’t take a peek and copy you LOL. Your galette looks so beautiful! I love the use of fresh ginger — I used ginger powder for my recipe. Still haven’t found fresh ginger here yet…
    The transatlantic food swap sounds fantastic. I have never ever participated in any kind of food swap before but it sounds fun!

    • Lol I know I totally laughed when I saw yours. Great minds think alike and all that 🙂 It is a good combination. If you have an Asian type supermarkets near you try them for fresh ginger – it tastes so different to powdered.

  3. Pingback: Asarum Europeaum, European Ginger | Find Me A Cure

  4. It’s my first time in the Foofie Pen Pals programme and I’m so so excited! Sorry to hear you didn’t receive your packets, though :((
    The transatlantical exchange sounds nice (I want cinnamon chips too!) but I think it might get a bit expensive!
    Anyway, what a gorgeous galette. I love the flavour combo 🙂

  5. Pingback: Apple and Cinnamon Butter | The Black Cat Kitchen

Leave a Reply

