Thai Noodle Broth with Turkey Meatballs

IMG_0835
Well we are back from London to the cold cold North! I always thought it was a myth that the North was colder than the South of England… turns out it’s not! Winter is officially here and I have to say I’m quite enjoying it so far – lovely crisp, cold mornings have made my walk to work rather nice!

I’ve never really liked London previously! I always found it much too busy and unfriendly, people rushing around looking irritated, refusing to make eye contact except to tut at you for having the audacity to walk near them! But this time round it has changed my mind…

DSC_0269IMG_0934DSC_0268DSC_0285DSC_0290DSC_0288

We were staying in Camden which I love – it has a proper town feel about it, all be it a town with a rather large proportion of pubs and tattoo parlours! No tattoos for me but we did sample a fair few of the pubs! We were in London for the warped tour  – which for anyone who doesn’t know is a two day festival celebrating all that is rock! 🙂

The main thing the warped tour has achieved is to highlight the fact that I am no longer 18… or 22…or even 25, who knew! To use the words of Yellowcard ‘You don’t grown up, you just grow old’ which is definitely true. 18 I may feel, but my feet say otherwise.  After three bands frankly I was ready for a little lie down and a sleep! But I like to think I made up for it the next night and bounced around for the duration with the best of them. Hell,  I could almost have passed for 25 again!

IMG_0832

One thing we have done a lot of this last week is eat a lot of rich food at some amazing restaurants. Delicious as it was we are well and truly ready for a detox week – enter Thai broth. I love this broth! It’s light and spicy but filling enough to be a meal in it’s self. It’s packed full of bite sized mouthfuls of lightly spiced turkey meatballs. fresh pak choi and topped with as much chilli and coriander as you can handle.

IMG_0838

Feel free to substitute the pak choi for kale or even cabbage if you struggle to get it, the main thing is the freshness of some greens. Also I used *mixed bamboo shoots and water chestnuts – feel free to use only one or the other depending on what you have easy access to. I tend to syphon some out of a Chinese veg stir fry pack as you don’t need much – then you can have stir fry the next day 🙂 If you end up buying a can feel free to chuck any left over bits in the broth it’s self, it all adds flavour.

I would love to accredit the original recipe to someone but it’s been in my collection so long I have no idea where it came from originally! Plus I think I’ve changed it so much it probably no longer bears much resemblance.

Thai Noodle Broth with Turkey Meatballs: (Serves 2)

Meatballs:

175g Turkey Mince

30 Mixed bamboo shoots and water chestnuts*- finely chopped

1 tsp Ginger Paste

1/2 Long Chilli – Finely Chopped

1 Tbsp Coriander – Finely Chopped

1 Tbsp Corn flour

1 Tbsp Soy Sauce

IMG_0831IMG_0827

Broth:

400ml Chicken Stock

175ml Coconut Milk

1 1/2 tsp Ginger Paste

1 Lemongrass – Split in half

1/2 Tbsp Soy Sauce

1/2 Tbsp Lime Juice

Pinch Sugar

2 Pak Choi – Leaves Chopped

2 Nests Fine Egg Noodles

Fresh Chopped Chilli and Coriander to Serve

DSC_0265DSC_0275

To make the meatballs put all the ingredients in a large bowl and bring them together with your hands to combine well. Roll loosely into small bite sized balls and set aside until needed.

IMG_0836

Put the stock, coconut milk, ginger and lemongrass in a large saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring to incorporate everything well. Reduce the heat to a simmer and gently add the meatballs – shake the pan a little to settle them into the stock. Simmer for five minutes.

Meanwhile cook the egg noodles according to the pack instructions, drain and set aside.

When the meatballs have cooked through add the soy sauce, lime juice and sugar and taste to check the balance of flavours. It should be a nice mix of salty, sour and creamy – adjust the lime juice or soy sauce if needed and remove and discard the lemongrass.

Add the pak choi and simmer for about 2 minutes until just wilted. Stir in the noodles and ladle into bowls – top with plenty of fresh chilli and coriander and dig in!

22 thoughts on “Thai Noodle Broth with Turkey Meatballs

  1. Haha I love that you felt like a nanna nap – I probably would have agreed with you! This looks super hearty, but it’s too hot for it here in Australia at the moment!
    I still slightly agree with your old sentiments about London (people aren’t friendly etc), but I liked it much more the last time I visited. I definitely think it depends what parts of London you hang about in! I have such a soft spot for the North though 😀

    • Yea it defo depends on the parts you go to! Totally different in the boroughs than the centre. It’s still no North though 🙂 Yea it’s defo a winter dish – haha you are going to be posting lovely summer things that make me miss the sun next few months aren’t you. Very jealous

  2. Oh…loved the pics…thanks so much for sharing!! I am desperately trying to make my way to London… my boss is always traveling there to one of our offices there, and I’m always begging her to let me go too… Maybe one of these days she’ll say yes! I don’t want to work when I’m there, I just want to sight see while she works… haha…

    This looks amazing…what a perfect meal for a very cold day. Definitely trying this one.. ❤ ❤

  3. I thought you were lucky because you had travelled to London, but now I know you’ve actually been to Warped… Oh My, you could have taken me with you ok that sounds amazing!!!!! I’ve always wanted to go, but I’ll have to wait until next year because I’m not still 18, and mum won’t take me.
    Which bands did you see, by the way??
    Hey, and the meatballs sound fab!

    • Haha it was so good Consuelo! We would have had room for one more in our little flat. We saw pretty much everyone, Yellowcard, Billy Talent, Flogging Molly, Rise against, Enter Shikari 🙂 The band of the weekend for me were The Maine – if you like all the above should defo check them out! Well I might see you there next year Consuelo 🙂

  4. What a fab recipe – do you think I could use fresh ginger instead of ginger paste as I have some in the house? Looks like you had a great time in London and remember you are only EVER as old as you feel!!!!! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Pingback: Turkey Meatballs | The Great American Feast

Leave a Reply

