5 Minute Chipotle Honey BBQ Sauce

IMG_0979

Hello! I’m back! It feels like forever since my last post, it really has been much too long. But I’m afraid I have been caught up in Christmas festivities galore and have hardly been in the house never mind cooking up a storm! My apologies, once new year is done I am officially back to normal and will be back to posting as normal (I hope!).

IMG_0931IMG_0929

I’ve really missed posting, I feel like I’ve gained a little community here and as well as not having a chance to post it also means I’ve missed catching up with all you lovelies over the Christmas! Apologies to all of you and a belated MERRY CHRISTMAS!

IMG_0934

It has been a lovely, although very busy one for me. Spent a lot of time with both mine and J’s family doing the usual eating and drinking far too much 🙂 Got some lovely pressies of course. Several gigs to look forward to in the new year, an amazing sausage dog covered scarf and cat covered bag, as well as loads of cookbooks and a beautiful book ‘the crafters guide to paper cutting’.

Crafting is one of my major passions outside of cooking (of course) and paper cutting is one I’ve been fancying for a while! So I have purchased my kit, studied my book and am very much looking forward to creating some hopefully beautiful paper cut prints in the next few weeks 🙂

So onto this BBQ sauce… It’s one I’ve been making for a while, it keeps really well in the fridge so it’s great to whip up a batch and use in as needed. It is literally the easiest thing EVER to make. It’s made entirely from store cupboard ingredients as well.

Or what I consider to be store cupboard ingredients, although I was slightly  mocked by one of the work girls for considering chipotle paste a ‘store cupboard’ ingredient. But for me it’s a must, and if any of you out there are anything like me I’m sure your cupboards are chocka with such items lurking in the back! It’s seriously good stuff though so worth investing in if you haven’t got it!

5 Minute Chipotle BBQ Sauce - The Black Cat Kitchen

One of the major things I use it for is BBQ burritos which are shown in the pictures. It’s a great way to use up left over roast or slow cooked meats – beef or brisket, pulled or roast pork, left over rotisserie chicken, all work perfectly!

Plus you can use what ever veg you fancy, the same with cheese – just use what ever is lurking in your fridge. sauté up your veg until softened, add your meat and a good few tablespoons of BBQ sauce along with a splash of water and simmer until thickened. Pair with rice of your choice (I usually go for a lime and chilli rice) and plenty of cheese and extra BBQ sauce and enjoy!

It also works great in a mac and cheese, which I will hopefully be posting next week! Or smother some pulled pork in it with a baked sweet potato, heaven!! There are endless uses for it and it will take literally minutes of your life to pull together.

Just a note, I’ve kept the measurements in cups as I think this is by far the easiest way of making it. I’ve tried converting to grams and mls but I just don’t think it works the same. Cup measures are so easy to use so it’s really worth grabbing some!

IMG_0978IMG_0970

5 Minute Chipotle and Honey BBQ Sauce: (Makes about 1 Cup)

1/2 Cup Tomato Ketchup

1/4 Cup Brown SauceIMG_0963

1/4 Cup Honey

1 1/2 Tbsp Chipotle Paste

2 tsp Cider Vinegar

1 1/2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

1/4 tsp each Salt and Pepper

Measure all ingredients into a small processor and blend to combine! It really is that simple.

Once well combined transfer to a jar and keep in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. Enjoy often with just about everything 🙂

14 thoughts on “5 Minute Chipotle Honey BBQ Sauce

  1. Claire!! Were you reading my mind? I was just telling my husband that I want to find the perfect homemade barbecue sauce. This looks like it’s so easy, and the ingredients sound like they’re a perfect combination…

    🙂 Happy New Year my friend!! ❤

  2. I’m ssssoooo glad you’re back Claire! I’ve truly missed you! I hope you’ve had a wonderful December, but girl just don’t leave us like that! 🙂 This BBQ sauce absolutely looks AMAZING, and you know how I love me some Chipotle! Have a Happy New Year! Cheers and blessings for 2014!

    • I know I’m sorry! Things have been totally manic over here. But I’m back promise. Chipotle is awesome isn’t it, can’t stop using it at the mo in just about everything!

  3. Yay, I’m so happy that you had a lovely Christmas! And so glad you’re back too. I’ve missed your nice posts!
    I love bbq and honey so I really really would like this. It looks super yummy!
    And gigs oh wow! That sounds fantastic!! Who are you seeing this time? Which bands? Come on, go ahead and make me jealous haha! ;–)

    • Thanks Consuelo! Off to see Less Than Jake, Reel Big Fish and Zebrahead :-)! Can’t wait, plus got Ross Noble tickets. Gonna be a good year haha. Do you get many bands your way to go see?

      • Not really :–( Bands I like never tour in Spain. By now, I’ve only got to see McFly and Bruce Springsteen and I’m dying to see Bon Jovi and Bruce once more! xx

  4. This looks great, thanks for sharing. I hope you had a lovely festive season and I cannot wait to read more of your recipes in 2014. The Black Cat Kitchen is undoubtedly my favourite blog of 2013. Happy New Year to you. PS – I have that same hedgehog decoration on my tree!!

  5. I just heard Jeffrey Zakarian (sp?) on TV yesterday say that he never makes barbeque sauce because he thinks the jarred varieties are good. I was shocked. I mean, Head Country is okay in a pinch, but most of them I’ve discovered over many years are too sweet, unnecessarily so, and sometimes too vinegary. And they take minutes to make!!! So I was really happy to see your wonderful recipe. Chipotle is a wonderful addition!!!

Leave a Reply

